Customer Reviews

Cherry City Transmission invites you to read the customer reviews & check rating scores for the services & repair done at our family-owned auto repair shop. We hope that when "best auto shops near me" or "best auto mechanics near me" is searched on websites like Google, Yahoo, or Yelp, Cherry City Transmission will be found to have the best customer ratings and reviews than any of the other auto & transmission repair shops in Salem. Please feel free to request a price quote or schedule an appointment at any time using our online forms.
Share Review
  • When the transmission went out on my car, I did not know where to take it. I was referred to Cherry City Transmissions by our family mechanic. I checked around and found this to be the very best place. My car has a transmission that is tough to rebuild correctly. I belong to several car forums, and hear disastrous stories about transmission rebuild mishaps all the time. I was worried at first. Most guys that own cars like mine, order rebuilt transmissions from two or three rebuilders in the country, who specialize in only these transmissions. However, this is my daily driver, so I could not wait for a trans to be build and shipped across the US. Jerry (the Owner) at Cherry City Transmissions certainly does know the idiosyncrasies of my trans. The rebuild he recommended included some parts designed to correct the weak parts in my trans. It has been over two years now, and I am happy to report that my transmission is still working better than new! I am a car guy. This car has it's own web page. I work on it almost daily, so this car means a lot to me. I can safely recommend Jerry and crew at Cherry City Transmissions. They do an excellent job! They did on my car, and fit it in during the busy holiday season, and did it for a fair price. I am a lifetime Cherry City Transmissions customer!

    Stewart Brown – Salem Oregon
    12/21/2010
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • By far the best, most honest transmission repair shop in Salem Oregon! My husband had his transmission rebuilt by them, this is his show car, not his daily driver. It was beyond the warranty, when his car started having problems, he took it back to them, and Jerry Wood, the owner, once he looked into it, stated that he would fix it for FREE! At the time, he had an employee that wasn't top notch and did some poor repairs, and this gentleman worked on our car (has since been fired) Jerry didn't have to tell us this, he didn't have to fix it for free, we would have been none the wiser. He is an amazing mechanic, we have sent multiple people to him, with all of them being very pleased.

    Christine Smith – Salem Oregon
    12/21/2010
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • When I needed transmission work prior to coming to Cherry City Transmissions, it had never been a pleasant experience. I chose Cherry City this time for my wife's van transmission problems because of, well, a coupon offer. After talking initially to Jerry I felt that maybe this experience would be different, and it was. Work was completed prior to when it was promised. The cost was what, Jerry said it would be... and it was fixed right the first time. Since that event, I have had 3 other vehicles' transmissions serviced and again, prompt service with no hidden extra costs. This has been the only automotive experience that I feel that anyone's wife would not be taken advantage of. Let's face it, a woman's lack of knowledge in the automotive area is often exploited. I've seen it. Got transmission problems... go with Cherry City Transmission, you will not regret it.

    Scott Johnson – Salem Oregon
    12/21/2010
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Cherry City Transmission did a first rate job of rebuilding our 1994 Volvo transmission. Their work comes with a substantial guarantee. Sophar and his staff were quite helpful and courteous as well.

    Joe Johnston – Salem Oregon
    12/15/2010
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I want to let you know that my Mazda Miata continues to run well after the work you did on it for me. It has been a pleasure having you work on several cars that my family has brought to you knowing of your trust and honesty and the fact that we are supporting a local business. Again, thank you for the work that you have done.

    Bill Williams – Salem Oregon
    12/15/2010
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Great experience at Cherry City. Got my truck in right away, had it back as promised. So far so good, truck still running good and was charged a great price.

    Bill Wilson – Salem Oregon
    3/23/2009
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • After the transmission in my Dodge 2500 started going out, I visited several shops for a rebuild quote. Cherry City was the best price, and the only shop that offered a warranty. The work on my truck only took 4 days. Cherry City wanted to make sure I was satisfied, and that the truck was right, so they asked me to drive it for 2 weeks to make sure, then bring it back so they could check it out. Only a minor adjustment needed to be made, and I have had no problems since. Not only did they do a great job, with very competitive prices, and a warranty to boot, they have great customer service! I would highly recommend Cherry City Transmission to anyone - simply the best in Salem!

    Bette Martin – Monmouth Oregon
    7/2/2011
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • Have taken several vehicles to Cherry City for Transmission service and have always had competent, complete, and courteous service. Thanks

    Donna Robinson – Salem Oregon
    2/5/2010
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I heard about you from a very reliable source, so when I needed some car work done I made an appointment to have it done and WOW what a GOOD JOB...WELL DONE. THANKS.

    Kathy Moore – Salem Oregon
    6/28/2010
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction
  • I have a collectable car, one that I want to have and drive for the foreseeable future. I had the feeling it was going to cost me thousands of dollars to get it fixed due to this car being a rare version of a really popular style. Jerry was very familiar with the style, this issue mine had and that is was not only repairable, but he said he could do it in just a few. After checking around, I discovered Sophar's Cherry City Transmissions is where most shops in the are send their transmissions to be rebuilt. Hearing this and having the promise of a quick turn-around, I took my car to Sophar. The repairs took longer than expected--the ONLY complaint I have. The work was done right and the car runs better now than it did when I bought it! I never knew it could accelerate like it does now! Thanks to Sophar and his awesome crew I now have my baby back and she's running top-notch! Also, this is the only place in town that for the price gives a warranty for the work they do. Save money and headaches - take her to Sophar!

    Kate Barnes – Salem Oregon
    5/17/2009
    • Shop Cleanliness
    • Repair Timeliness
    • Would Recommend
    • Customer Service
    • Estimate vs Cost
    • Overall Satisfaction